Top Ten Books of 2014

Well, now, this ought to be a good list. A tough one, because I read a lot of good books this year! I’ll try not to rant and rave too much, I promise.

1. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Mariller – I’ve been ranting and raving about this one for months, so you might be sick of it already, but kid you not, I’ve NEVER been so moved by a book.

2. Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Mariller – This one makes the cut as one of those super-rare, once-in-a-decade books that makes a series go out with a bang–that DOESN’T disappoint.

3. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin – Easily the best of the series so far. Bonus points for turning me into a seething bundle of nerves two minutes before I had to clock into work (three words: Red. Freaking. Wedding).

4. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis be Bernieres – It might have taken me awhile to finish it, but I reiterate my statement in my review. I had to savor it. Ah, so beautiful!

5. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – A flop so far as dystopia is concerned, but a fantastic literary tribute to love and survival at the end of the world. Literally, as it turns out.

6. Imprinted On a Demon’s Heart by Michelle Rodriguez – The author’s most daring work yet, and yet another uber-romantic, super-steamy, heart-wrenching novel.

7. Advice To Writers by John Winokur – Forget it. This was just plain fun, with a heap of advice I may or may not take as it suits me. In fact, I’d read this just for the fun of it!

8. Out of Breath by Rebecca Donovan – Despite Ms. Donovan’s deficiencies as a writer, she pulled off a very moving ending to her series that got me right in the feels.

9. Maire by Linda Windsor – This one works on several levels: as Christian fiction, as romance, as adventure. Well done!

10. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – I snuck in another re-read, and I’ve accepted I’ll never review any of these, but I’m always going to have a place in my heart and on my shelves for Harry.

About RisingPhoenix761

Hello! Glad to meet you! Long story short, I've got a young heart with an old soul, I love to think about stuff, and occasionally share what I think about. Stick around, if you like!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Books of 2014

  1. Diane Erdahl says:

    I envy your devotion to reading! I’ve only read one on your list; Michelle’s of course.

    Like

  2. Hmm…yeah, still haven’t read the first Song of Ice and Fire book *looks about innocently*. Well, everyone needs something to aspire to I suppose lol. Something about the Road has always scared me off. I don’t know why and the same with Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – but I think that was because I saw the film and think I couldn’t handle the book.

    Great list!

    Like

    • Hey, Alex! 😀 A Song of Ice and Fire is more of a commitment than a read, just to warn you. I haven’t seen either of the films for The Road and Corelli’s Mandolin, but I really want to watch The Road. I’ll pass on Nicolas Cage as Corelli, thanks. LOL

      Like

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!