Top Ten Books of 2014

Well, now, this ought to be a good list. A tough one, because I read a lot of good books this year! I’ll try not to rant and rave too much, I promise.

1. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Mariller – I’ve been ranting and raving about this one for months, so you might be sick of it already, but kid you not, I’ve NEVER been so moved by a book.

2. Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Mariller – This one makes the cut as one of those super-rare, once-in-a-decade books that makes a series go out with a bang–that DOESN’T disappoint.

3. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin – Easily the best of the series so far. Bonus points for turning me into a seething bundle of nerves two minutes before I had to clock into work (three words: Red. Freaking. Wedding).

4. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis be Bernieres – It might have taken me awhile to finish it, but I reiterate my statement in my review. I had to savor it. Ah, so beautiful!

5. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – A flop so far as dystopia is concerned, but a fantastic literary tribute to love and survival at the end of the world. Literally, as it turns out.

6. Imprinted On a Demon’s Heart by Michelle Rodriguez – The author’s most daring work yet, and yet another uber-romantic, super-steamy, heart-wrenching novel.

7. Advice To Writers by John Winokur – Forget it. This was just plain fun, with a heap of advice I may or may not take as it suits me. In fact, I’d read this just for the fun of it!

8. Out of Breath by Rebecca Donovan – Despite Ms. Donovan’s deficiencies as a writer, she pulled off a very moving ending to her series that got me right in the feels.

9. Maire by Linda Windsor – This one works on several levels: as Christian fiction, as romance, as adventure. Well done!

10. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – I snuck in another re-read, and I’ve accepted I’ll never review any of these, but I’m always going to have a place in my heart and on my shelves for Harry.

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Books of 2014

  1. Diane Erdahl says:

    I envy your devotion to reading! I’ve only read one on your list; Michelle’s of course.

    Like

  2. Hmm…yeah, still haven’t read the first Song of Ice and Fire book *looks about innocently*. Well, everyone needs something to aspire to I suppose lol. Something about the Road has always scared me off. I don’t know why and the same with Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – but I think that was because I saw the film and think I couldn’t handle the book.

    Great list!

    Like

    • Hey, Alex! 😀 A Song of Ice and Fire is more of a commitment than a read, just to warn you. I haven’t seen either of the films for The Road and Corelli’s Mandolin, but I really want to watch The Road. I’ll pass on Nicolas Cage as Corelli, thanks. LOL

      Like

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

