Rapture – Lauren Kate

Fallen, book four

12716010

The sky is dark with wings . . .

And time is running out for Luce and Daniel.
In order to stop Lucifer from erasing the past, they must find the place where the Fall began. Only Luce can break the curse, and it is her choice alone that will decide all of their fates.
But as Dark Forces gather, great sacrifices will have to be made in this final, epic struggle . . .
In the fight for Luce, and for Love, who will win?
The astonishing climax to the Fallen series. Heaven can’t wait any longer.

MY RATING: 1 STAR

Ugh, FINALLY! I finished this series! I’ll start with this installement, then go over Fallen as a whole.

So, Rapture. Not impressed. It followed Kate’s formula of slow beginning, muddled middle, and exciting ending that doesn’t make up for the rest of the book. There’s unnecessary baggage, not enough attention is paid to details that were made out to be important, and I don’t know if my mind wasn’t where it was supposed to be or if I just missed something, but when the angels are flying from one country to the next to stop Lucifer, you would think a conscientious writer would want to make sure the reader keeps up. Instead, I went through this like it was a long car ride; look out the window and take in the scenery for awhile, then lean back in the seat and take a nap, wake me when it’s over. And I gather I was supposed to be surprised by the major plot twists, but I sniffed those out ages ago, so…no.

Now for Fallen as a series–totally forgettable and easily regretable (is that a word?). It took forever to get through the whole thing, for all that the books were only four hundred pages each and the writing was trite and juvenile. Everything was formulaic and predictable, the characters were unbelieveable and indistinct from one another, and the story lines went from going nowhere to going all over the place and back again in the span of a few chapters. Truth be told, I’m torn between brutal honesty and the need to be polite. As a whole, I thought the whole thing was ridiculous. It could have been really good in the hands of a better writer, and in fact, it is. If you want a fallen angel romance, I’d suggest you skip this baloney and try out Michelle Rodriguez’s Angel and Demon Chronicles.

About RisingPhoenix761

Hello! Glad to meet you! Long story short, I've got a young heart with an old soul, I love to think about stuff, and occasionally share what I think about. Stick around, if you like!
This entry was posted in fantasy, romance, young adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

