Watership Down – Richard Adams

This ranks somewhere on my TBR Tackle, but I’ve forgotten how far into the challenge I am at this point…oops!

76620

Set in England’s Downs, a once idyllic rural landscape, this stirring tale of adventure, courage and survival follows a band of very special creatures on their flight from the intrusion of man and the certain destruction of their home. Led by a stouthearted pair of friends, they journey forth from their native Sandleford Warren through the harrowing trials posed by predators and adversaries, to a mysterious promised land and a more perfect society.

MY RATING: 5 STARS

This had been sitting on my shelf for well over a year after I bought it (shocking, I know), and it wasn’t until seeing it mentioned in another book that I finally decided to pick it up. And once I did, I couldn’t put it down. Trust me, I get the hype now. Why didn’t I read this SOONER?!

There was so much to love about this, and it’s definitely earned to be called a classic. The rabbits of Watership Down, considered a ragtag bunch to outsiders, are impossible not to love. Their courage and loyalty get you in their corner right away; I was cheering them on from the get-go and hoping they succeeded in building a new home for themselves. Their journey to the down and their fight to protect their warren and each other, a basic premise, made for a straightforward but profound story, and when I finally finished reading I had to stop and collect myself before I could move on. I almost couldn’t resist the temptation to turn around and read it again right away, I enjoyed it that much.

It’s not hard to understand why this is still considered a classic, forty years after publication. There is a timelessness to its core themes of family and survival that relates to any day and age. Mr. Adams’s language is alternately direct and poetic (there is a certain passage about moonlight I felt compelled to stop and make note of). It’s heartening, heart-wrenching, and heart-warming. It was completely entertaining from page one. In short, it was a prime example of good storytelling.

I say this quite often about books I enjoy, but I’ll be recommending this one for quite some time. If you haven’t read this yet, do it! I urge you!

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in childrens, classics, fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Watership Down – Richard Adams

  1. After I read this I tried to get every one of my friends to read it. I loved it so much! Such an interesting perspective. Glad you liked it too!

    Like

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

