Passion – Lauren Kate

Fallen, book three

9369720

‘Every single lifetime, I’ll choose you. Just as you have chosen me. Forever.’

Luce would die for Daniel. And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way . . . Luce is certain that something – or someone – in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime . . . going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.
Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history. Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames . . . forever.

MY RATING: 3 STARS

I remember feeling the same way about Fallen and Torment: they both started slow, got muddled towards the middle, and the ending was good but not good enough to make up for the rest. The same applies to Passion. I spent the first half completely confused while Lauren Kate seemed to have no idea how to pace events to allow the reader to keep up, catch up, and make sense of what’s going on. I got the feeling important stuff was happening, but it ran together in a garbled mess. Time travel was an important element, yet the language used as Luce went further back was inconsistent, modern one minute then archaic the next. In particular, the phrase “hocked a giant loogie” stuck out like a sore thumb in a pinkie factory. And I have to wonder, what was the point of Shelby and Miles being there at all? They were only in one scene, and completely dispensable in that scene.

Onto something positive. Daniel was all right! I wasn’t sold on him through books one and two, but he wasn’t so stiff here and we finally saw how far back his love for Luce goes. And then there’s this: What on earth did you do with your hands when the one thing they wanted to hold was suddenly, gruesomely gone? Seeing Daniel throughout time was one of the good parts about the whole thing, learning how true and deep his love is. Don’t know why it took two books to make it clear, but that ship has sailed.

All right, wait a second! Here this whole time I thought this series was about a doomed teen love affair with some supernatural stuff thrown in for good measure! If the outcome of the battle between Heaven and Hell depended on it, why not bring that in sooner? It’s mentioned before, but halfway through the series isn’t the time I would have chosen to finally make it sound important. It’s a tad off-setting to go from such a narrow view to a huge sweeping vista, and it would have made more sense to bring it in a lot sooner.

Come to think of it, I’ve spent this entire series as uninformed as Luce. Ordinarily I wouldn’t mind (i.e. when the writing is top-notch), but I’d like a little something every now and then to convince me it’s worth the effort to keep reading. I haven’t been in a rush to finish this series, and at this rate I’ll be relieved when it’s over

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in fantasy, romance, young adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

