The Secret History of Elizabeth Tudor, Vampire Slayer – Lucy Weston

7950945

Revealed at last in this new vampire saga for the ages: the true, untold story of the “Virgin Queen” and her secret war against the Vampire King of England. . . .

On the eve of her coronation, Elizabeth Tudor is summoned to the tomb of her mother, Anne Boleyn, to learn the truth about her bloodline—and her destiny as a Slayer. Born to battle the bloodsucking fiends who ravage the night, and sworn to defend her beloved realm against all enemies, Elizabeth soon finds herself stalked by the most dangerous and seductive vampire of all.

He is Mordred, bastard son of King Arthur, who sold his soul to destroy his father. After centuries in hiding, he has arisen determined to claim the young Elizabeth as his Queen. Luring her into his world of eternal night, Mordred tempts Elizabeth with the promise of everlasting youth and beauty, and vows to protect her from all enemies. Together, they will rule over a golden age for vampires in which humans will exist only to be fed upon. Horrified by his intentions, Elizabeth embraces her powers as a Slayer even as she realizes that the greatest danger comes from her own secret desire to yield to Mordred . . . to bare her throat in ecstasy and allow the vampire king to drink deeply of her royal blood.

As told by Lucy Weston, the vampire prey immortalized in Bram Stoker’s Dracula, this spellbinding account will capture your heart and soul—forever.

MY RATING: 2 STARS

Make that 2.5, but I wasn’t feeling generous enough to round up.

I wasn’t about to pass up anything to do with Elizabeth I, especially not when vampires are involved. It seemed like such an awesome idea, but the execution was…meh. It was all right, but I was nowhere near sold. I wanted to like this one so much and it had a lot going for it! Elizabeth and her court, Arthurian legend, vampire lore, even a gimmick about the author’s pseudonym, but it never came together.

The writing was lovely at times but it tended to go overboard quite often, and the story was at least interesting if predictable. Ms. Weston pulled out all the big names, from William Cecil to Francis Walsingham, John Dee, Robin Dudley, and Kat Ashley. Sadly, Walsingham and Kat were the only ones that were noteworthy. The others ranged from tolerable to annoying–i.e., Robin. Honestly, I didn’t take to Elizabeth, either. I never really believed her as a long-awaited slayer and there wasn’t much to her as a queen. She never made it past two-dimensional. I’m not sure what to make of Mordred…I couldn’t tell whether he was supposed to be a villain or an antihero, and his motives were inconsistent. The only points I’m handing out are for being only the third book I’ve ever read that didn’t make Anne Boleyn out to be a total biatch.

I take it this is supposed to be the first book of a series? If so, there wasn’t much to entice me to keep reading. The mix of Elizabeth, Arthur and vampires was sloppy, the characters irritating, and the writing patchy bordering on purple. What’s killing me most is Elizabeth! I have such admiration for her, and there is nothing about this characterization that is even likeable! I can overlook everything else if the protagonist is a strong, solid lead I can believe in and relate to, and it didn’t work out that way. I was expecting something better, but was sorely disappointed. Feel free to skip this one; in fact, I urge you to.

About RisingPhoenix761

Hello! Glad to meet you! Long story short, I've got a young heart with an old soul, I love to think about stuff, and occasionally share what I think about. Stick around, if you like!
This entry was posted in fantasy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

