Top Ten Characters I Would Dress As For Halloween

Even though Halloween was last week…just consider this a clearance post on all seasonal items, or getting a jump start on next year!

1. Gemma Doyle (Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray) – Gemma is probably the first female lead I ever filed under “bad ass females,” using those exact words. She’s insecure and self-conscious, but she’s also determined, rebellious, and she’s got a hell of a cynical streak that I love. Let’s go with the Spence Academy uniform: white blouse, white skirt, corset, petticoat, and blue cape. Throw on a red wig and we’re set!

2. Irene Adler (Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) – Even though she only appeared in one story–“A Scandal in Bohemia,” if you wanted to know–I’ve always been a fan of the only woman who ever outsmarted Holmes himself. I think I’ll take Rachel McAdam’s magenta dress, thank you.

3. Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins) – While I might have a few problems with Katniss being stubborn, selfish and immature, in general I approve. Having my own prediliction for archery helps, too. Gimme a windbreaker, some boots, and a bow, and I’ll braid my hair.

4. Lisbeth Salander (Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson) – If you want to talk about bad ass females, then you can’t leave out THE bad ass female. I refuse to cut my hair for the sake of any costume, but I’ve got lots of black clothing to choose from, and we can top it with a leather jacket and some fake tattoos. Why not finish it off with a golf club for a prop?

5. Inigo Montoya (The Princess Bride by William Goldman) – I only have to say this: “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” And I have no problem with dressing up as a man. We’ll need more leather! And a sword!

6. Maerad (The Books of Pellinor by Alison Croggon) – On an unrelated note, am I the only one that read this series? I LOVED Maerad! Sure, she’s a standard fantasy heroine, but still! Magic, music, and magical music! Let’s see what we can manage based on the cover…a green dress and a lyre should do the trick.

7. Jacky Faber (Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer) – You had to see this one coming…but what to do for a costume? Jacky isn’t known for any one look! Should it be her midshipman’s uniform, her riding habit, her diving costume (though that might get a little chilly), her blue dress, her school uniform…?

8. Daenerys Targaryen (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin) – Oh, yeah. Daenerys Stormborn, the Unburnt, Mother of Dragons, Kahleesi, and rightful ruler of the Seven Kingdoms. First of all, I’ll need a platinum-blonde wig! And let’s go in the Dothraki fashion, with the plain vest and leggings, with a little toy dragon to cap it off.

9. Eowyn of Rohan (The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien) – Eowyn! How I love thee! You rode into battle against Sauron’s army and slew the Witch-King singlehandedly! Probably one of the first bad ass females of modern literature, if you get down to it! Well, I’d better hang onto that blonde wig, and let’s find some armor, and make a shield…paint it green with a white horse for the sigil, and there you have it.

10. Bellatrix Lestrange (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling) – Time to bring on the baddies! I was Hermione in fourth grade, so I can’t do that one twice, and Bellatrix is the villain I love to hate the most. She even tops Voldemort! And you know, I think I’m going to go with Helena Bonham Carter’s look on this one: black Gothic-looking dress, black curly hair, dark makeup, and it looks like I’ll need a new wand…

Honorable Mention…because sometimes ten isn’t enough…

Bianca McKenna (Opera Macabre by Michelle Rodriguez) – Bianca remains one of my favorite heroines, and her costume should be easy AND glamorous! A long formal gown in a dark shade, preferably black, long gloves, a fancy choker, and a lovely updo. For my own touch, I’m adding some kind of butterfly jewelry!

Kahlan (The Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind) – I’m pretty much over Goodkind’s books with thinly-veiled misogyny and recycled plotlines and ugh, Richard’s sermons! Anyway, I’m still a fan of Kahlan, the Mother Confessor, so let’s go with a plain white dress and a pair of daggers, and call it a night.

About RisingPhoenix761

Hello! Glad to meet you! Long story short, I've got a young heart with an old soul, I love to think about stuff, and occasionally share what I think about. Stick around, if you like!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

