Top Ten Authors I Need to Read More Of

I seem to have more men than women on this list, but I think I tend to follow up on female authors more than male…let’s find out!

1. Diana Gabaldon – *sigh* Yes, it’s true, I’ve only ever read Outlander. In my defense, I’ve been TRYING and TRYING to get my hands on Dragonfly in Amber, so I can continue the series, but no luck so far. I’ll have to look up what else she’s written outside the series sometime.

2. Mary Higgins Clark – I read Daddy’s Little Girl years ago and love it to this day, but other than that, nothing. And I’ve got no excuse, as my mom loves MHC and has a handful of her other books sitting at home, just waiting for me to borrow one. I’ll work my way towards it sooner or later.

3. Tamora Pierce – I read Lady Knight about ten years ago, not realizing at the time it was the LAST book of the Protector of the Small series. Regardless, it was amazing, and I’ve spent the decade since trying to find the rest of the series. I’ve also got Emperor Mage on a shelf at home but, surprise surprise, it’s also about halfway through a series. I’ve got even worse luck with Pierce than Gabaldon!

4. Thomas Hardy – Tess of the d’Urbervilles turned out to be one of the most influential books I’ve ever read, and yet…I’ve zeroed in on Far From the Madding Crowd as my next target.

5. Scott Westerfield – After being so excited to read Leviathan, only to wind up a tad disappointed in the whole thing, I felt no urge to continue the series, but I’ve heard good things about The Uglies, so I might as well give it a shot.

6. Charles Dickens – I’ve read David Copperfield about ten times and find something new to like every time (though I HATE the Murdstones and Uriah Heep still freaks me out), but it’s the only Dickens I’ve read! Can you believe that? Not A Christmas Carol, not Oliver Twist, not A Tale of Two Cities, nothing! What’s wrong with me?

7. Victor Hugo – I made it through Les Miserables in one piece, though I was an emotional wreck in the two weeks it took to finish that thing, and I’ve got The Hunchback of Notre Dame waiting for me at home, but…I’ll have to be in the right mood before I try that one again. Hugo is pretty long-winded.

8. Neil Gaiman – Stardust. Need I say more? The only question is, which one should I go for next?

9. Daphne du Maurier – Rebecca is still up there with Tess as one of those uber-important books that changed the way I read and write, and I need to follow up on more du Maurier, dang it!

10. Frederick Forsyth – I didn’t take good advice and read The Phantom of Manhattan anyway. Big Mistake with a capital M. Not only did my Phantom fan sensibilities take extreme offense to a beyond-crap sequel, but it left me prejudiced against what is otherwise a talented author (so I’m told). It’s time to get over it and try again, and stay away from sequels with a ten-foot pole!

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

