Starting Now – Debbie Macomber

A Blossom Street novel (number nine, or so Goodreads tells me)

12681611

For years Libby Morgan dreamed only of making partner in her competitive, high-pressure law firm. She sacrificed everything for her career—her friends, her marriage, her chance at creating a family. When her boss calls Libby into his office, she assumes it will finally be good news, but nothing can prepare her for the shocking reality: She’s been let go and must rebuild her entire life . . . starting now.

With no job prospects in sight, Libby reaches out to old friends and spends her afternoons at A Good Yarn, the local knitting store. There she forms a close bond with Lydia, the sweet-natured shop owner; Lydia’s spirited teenage daughter, Casey; and Casey’s best friend, Ava, a shy yet troubled girl who will shape Libby’s future in surprising and profound ways.

As A Good Yarn becomes a second home—and the women a new kind of family—Libby relishes the different person she’s become. She even finds time for romance with a charming and handsome doctor who seems to be her perfect match. But just as everything is coming together, Libby must make a choice that could forever change the life she holds so dear.

Warmly told and richly textured, Starting Now is filled with the promise of new beginnings and the unending delights of companionship and love.

MY RATING: 2 STARS

I’ve never had the urge to read a Debbie Macomber book, but when I found myself in a predicament and faced with two and a half hours of total boredom otherwise, it was do or die. And now that I’ve actually read one of her books, it’s going to take awhile before I pick up another.

Generally speaking, she doesn’t write my type of book. Happy sappy love-is-all-you-need stories aren’t my cup of tea, so I came into it with low expectations. I was surprised when I actually started enjoying it, getting into the story and the characters, and I really found myself relating to Libby. We’re both workaholics, have no social lives, and we tend to use accomplishments in place of relationships. I wasn’t expecting to like her, much less see myself in her.

You can imagine my disappointment, then, when the ending turned out so predictably (spoilers ahead). I can live with Libby not getting to adopt Ava’s baby after all, but I didn’t like that she stayed with her old firm, the one that fired her in the first place after she spent half her life busting hump. I would have preferred she stick to her guns and continue her own practice. That feels more like the rebuilding and starting over promised in the blurb, and not making the same mistakes all over again or compromising. And finding Mr. Right suddenly makes everything better? Yeah, sorry, you lost me. The entire romance angle felt thrown in there for the sake of it, awkward and clunky. I just can’t fall into stories where the heroine NEEDS a man to make her life complete, and it turned me off that this one took that turn.

To be fair and say something positive, this was otherwise an enjoyable book. I read half of it in two hours and was hooked enough to finish it. Millions of people read Ms. Macomber’s books, so she obviously knows what she’s doing, but she and I aren’t the right fit for each other. No harm, no foul, no hard feelings.

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

