Top Ten Characters Who Would Sit At My Lunch Table

So, let’s scrap the idea of this being a Tuesday feature. I’ll just tackle them as I find them, and if I find them interesting. This one, however, I couldn’t pass up.

1. Erik (The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux) – The Phantom himself! Considering he’s antisocial, to say the least, and more than a little insane, he might not be the best guest for lunch…heck, he probably won’t even eat anything! In spite of the murderous tendencies, the raging self-pity, and the temper tantrums of a five-year-old, he’s freakishly intelligent and has a morbid sense of humor, so yeah, he’s at my table.

2. Hermione Granger (the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling) – Hermione was always my favorite, because I saw so much of myself in her. Both bookish, both a little bossy (her more so than me), both devoted to our friends. 

3. Sherlock Holmes/John Watson (the Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) – Yeah, maybe I cheated a little, sneaking Watson in there, but you can’t have one without the other! 

4. Lisbeth Salander (the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson) – Oh, look! Another antisocial oddball! If possible, she might be an even more difficult lunch guest than Erik, but I’m still inviting her…half expecting her not to show up. I love Lisbeth! She’s a total bad ass, but a softie under the punk exterior!

5. Rufus Pennyworth (Opera Macabre by Michelle Rodriguez) – Rufus remains a favorite, the demon who reads emotions through one touch. His unusual fashion sense will certainly liven up the table, and he’s quick-witted enough, his conversation ought to be interesting.

6. Raoul de Chagny (The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux) – I know I’m asking for trouble, having Raoul and Erik sit at the same table, but in my defense, I happen to like Raoul (okay, I confess, I love him to death when he’s not acting like an idiot), and they don’t have to sit next to each other.

7. Jacky Faber (the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer) – No way Jacky isn’t at my lunch table! 

8. Meriadoc Brandybuck/Peregrin Took (The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien) – I cheated again, but you can’t invite Merry and not invite Pippin, and vice versa. You can’t. Besides, they’re so small they won’t take up much room at the table.

9. Jamie Fraser/Claire Fraser (Outlander by Diana Gabaldon) – Cheating again! But it would be rude, not to mention improper, to invite only half of a married couple. Maybe I’ll seat them next to Rufus, and see how he and Jamie match wits.

10. Fezzik the Giant (The Princess Bride by William Goldman) – ‘Nuff said.

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

