In Memoriam…L.A. Meyer

L.A. Meyer

The author of the Bloody Jack series, L.A. Meyer, passed away late July. It just goes to show I’ve been living under a rock lately to only have just heard about it, but the news crushed me. Jacky Faber became one of my favorite fictional characters the moment I read the first book of the series, and I’ve been following it for years. Her exploits never failed to entertain, and Mr. Meyer always brightened my day with his humor. I’ve been around the world with Jacky, from serving in His Majesty’s navy, to finishing school in Boston, privateering in the Mediterranean, diving for Spanish gold, all the way up to transportation to Australia. I’ve gotten behind with the recent books, but just hearing that a new one was being published got me so excited I spent the rest of the day with a huge grin on my face. The final book, Wild Rover No More, will be published in September. It’s been a joy and an adventure to keep up with his heroine, and I’ll sorely miss the man who introduced me to her.

The Bloody Jack series

Bloody Jack: Being An Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary “Jacky” Faber, Ship’s Boy

Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being An Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady

Under the Jolly Roger: Being An Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber

In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being An Accoung of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber

Mississippi Jack: Being an Account of the Further Waterborne Adventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman, Fine Lady, and Lily of the West

My Bonny Light Horseman: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, in Love and War

Rapture of the Deep: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, Soldier, Sailor, Mermaid, Spy

The Wake of the Lorelei Lee: Being an Account of the Adventures of Jacky Faber, on Her Way to Botany Bay

The Mark of the Golden Dragon: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, Jewel of the East, Vexation of the West, and Pearl of the South China Sea

Viva Jacquelina! Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, Over the Hills and Far Away

Boston Jacky: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, Taking Care of Business

Wild Rover No More: Being the Last Recorded Account of the Life & Times of Jacky Faber (to be published soon)

RIP, Mr. Meyer, and thank you for all the adventures.

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in adventure, historical fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

