Top Ten Authors We Own the Most Books Of

There’s a little thing called Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and the Bookish, and I thought I’d give it a shot. I can’t promise it will be a regular Tuesday feature, but it should be fun. As indicated by the title of this post, this week it’s authors we own the most books of. Here’s my list:

1. Arthur Conan Doyle – Not really sure if that one should count or not…I have the two-volume set of The Complete Sherlock Holmes which totals up to four novels and about five or six collections, but can you consider them separate if they’re all packaged up together?

2. Michelle Rodriguez – I have seven of her nine published books, which includes two vampire romances, one Phantom of the Opera novel, one Phantom of the Opera story collection, and three installments of The Angel and Demon Chronicles. Well, four installments; e-formats count, right?

3. J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter 1-7, along with The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, and Quidditch Through the Ages. Guess we know what the focus of my childhood was, don’t we? I have yet to read anything she’s published since Harry Potter, but I’m working on it!

4. Jane Austen – I have six books on my shelf, but I’m missing Persuasion…how does that work, you might ask? Well, I’ve got Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, Northanger Abbey, and Mansfield Park, but I also stumbled along The Watsons at Goodwill once upon a time. I haven’t read that one yet, but again, I’m working on it.

5. Stephen King – Sitting on a shelf at home are The Shining, The Green Mile, The Stand, Misery, Carrie, and On Writing. I read It ages ago to try and conquer my fear of Pennywise the clown (and it kinda worked…ish) but the book itself wasn’t impressive enough for me to add to my collection. There’s a lot more of King’s books on my TBR list than on my shelves, surprise surprise.

6. Diana Gabaldon – We’re getting into the range where I scrape the bottom of the barrel looking for authors to add to the list…I have three of hers. Just three. Outlander, Voyager, and Drums of Autumn. Also known as Outlander books 1, 3, and 4. I’ve had no luck laying hands on book 2, Dragonfly In Amber, and while I would hate to read them out of order, I’m dying for more Jamie and Claire, so I might just go with what I have. You would think that with the new TV series coming and a new book in the series just released that SOMEONE would be selling the old ones somewhere, but nooooo, that would make too much sense. *rolls eyes*

7. Cornelia Funke – I have Inkheart and Inkspell in paperback and Inkdeath on PDF (again, still have to read it) and I unearthed Dragon Rider from the free bin at McKay’s.

8. George R.R. Martin – A Song of Ice and Fire, one through five. Need I say more?

9. Christopher Paolini – Ugh. I have three-quarters of the Inheritance Cycle, and I’m not sure I’ll even bother getting the last book. Eragon was all right, for a teen author ripping off every fantasy and sci-fi epic known to man, but it got more annoying with Eldest and I could hardly get through Brisingr the first and only time I read it. Not sure I want to spend money on Inheritance and end up hating it, so I could just get it from the library, but I don’t know if I even care enough to see how things end.

10. Roald Dahl – It’s a sad case of reading more than I own…I’ve read a sh*t ton through the years, most of them more than once, and yet I’ve only got two at home. Two! *sniff* The two are my favorites, though! The BFG and The Witches. I used to have The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More, but I seem to have lost it somewhere…

I have a few more that could go on the list, but those are the major ones. Wonder what the next list will be?

About AngelxPhoenix

Hello! Glad to meet you! I'm quite the character if you get to know me, and one of the first things you'll learn about me is that I love to read. I'm rarely without a book, I can quote my favorites verbatim, and my favorite place to hang out is the library (forget the bookstores. I'm always broke and can't buy anything, which always bums me out). And I love love LOVE to talk about my faves!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Authors We Own the Most Books Of

  1. I still haven’t got into Game of Thrones yet. I feel like I’m missing out on something fundamental, lol. Obviously, I should remedy this.

    My TTT Post

    Like

  2. Diane Erdahl says:

    You are a prolific reader! Sadly, I can only claim Michelle and Diana from your list. Lets call it post Master’s reading burnout syndrome. As for fiction, I now have placed the cart before the horse, by starting my own novel about Phantom. By the way, I love your new WordPress format! Diane

    Like

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

