New Arrivals

About seventy percent of the books in my personal collection are used, and most of those came from Goodwill. I worked in the same shopping complex for about a year, and in that time I’m willing to bet that I bought somewhere around thirty books (whether or not I’ve even read them all yet is irrelevant). It was a good deal! Never more than two dollars a book, and three for hardcovers! Three cheers for Goodwill!

So imagine my shock when my sister came home from this magical place called McKay’s Used Books…with two grocery bags stuffed full…for less than five dollars! I’ve been living in the dark all this time! Bargain bins? Free bins?! Where is this place? How do I get there?

I finally got to take my turn Saturday night, racing all the way to West Nashville with only ninety minutes until closing time to explore the book nerd’s wonder emporium: a converted warehouse with two whole floors of books, CD’s, DVD’s, electronics, and so much other cool stuff my brain was about to explode. But all that was inside, in the nice, air-conditioned, climate-controlled interior. I had a mission waiting outside in the free book bins. Four ginormous crates of books, all for free!

It was eighty-four degrees and the humidity was over fifty percent, and that was after sunset! I was outside for a solid hour, digging straight to the bottom of every single crate and coming out with gold. I must have looked like a woman possessed, bent over these bins, piling books two feet high in every direction trying to see every book in the box, setting a few aside every now and then to skim through them later and decide if I wanted to take them home. Hey, they were all free!

Inside, with ten minutes left to look, I hit the bargain section ($1.00 or less) and the 25-cent section. That one was what blew my mind even more than four free bins. Books priced anywhere between a nickel and a quarter! Wow!

In the end, I went home with about twenty “new” books, and I only spent $1.05. Jackpot! The finds of the night include, but are not limited to

  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  • Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke
  • Emperor Mage by Tamora Pierce
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  • Voyager by Diana Gabaldon

So…when’s the next trip?

About RisingPhoenix761

Hello! Glad to meet you! Long story short, I've got a young heart with an old soul, I love to think about stuff, and occasionally share what I think about. Stick around, if you like!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

