2015 Reading Challenge: TBR Tackle

Hey everybody! It’s the new year! Is anyone making any resolutions? Did anyone drink too much champagne to celebrate?

Down to business! The TBR column of last year’s book bingo challenge inspired me. After a quick inventory, I realized I have nearly 50 books sitting on my shelf that I haven’t read yet. 50! I know some of you with hundreds upon hundreds that you haven’t gotten around to are reading that number and wondering what I’m complaining about, but I usually make it a point to read a book the instant I get it in my hands. So what caused the hold up?

Background information (feel free to skip this paragraph if you want): I used to work in the same shopping center as a thrift store; I couldn’t go to work without stopping in, and I couldn’t stop in without looking at the book section, and I couldn’t look at the book section without finding something I just had to have. And when books are priced at anywhere from 99 cents to $2 a piece, it’s hard to say no. You see where this was going…throw in a few trips to the wonderful magical free bin at McKay’s Used Books, and you can figure the rest out. I couldn’t read as fast as I could acquire!

Onto the challenge: I’m going to try to read at least 15 new books this year. That doesn’t sound like a lot, but I’m leaving room for re-reads and unexpected library trips. Considering most of the books I read last year were on my TBR list, I think 15 is pretty reasonable. And if I meet that goal and read even more, then it’ll feel like a huge accomplishment. đŸ˜‰

Wish me luck! Does anyone have any challenges of their own?

About RisingPhoenix761

Hello! Glad to meet you! Long story short, I've got a young heart with an old soul, I love to think about stuff, and occasionally share what I think about. Stick around, if you like!
This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave a reply! You know you want to!

